Japanese Society of Thoracic Radiology

Development and history of Japanese Society of Thoracic Radiology

Japanese Society of Thoracic Radiology (JSTR) was established in 1987 to promote education and research in the specialty of thoracic radiology including imaging and interventional radiology. In the fall of this year, the first annual meeting was held in Okayama. The annual meeting covered case reports with pathologic correlations, and included lectures by some invited speakers. Each session was chaired by a radiologist and pathologist, which enabled us to have a better understanding of the pathological background of the imaging. Since then, the number of the papers have gradually increased and nowadays, more than 40 interesting case reports have been presented.

Missions of Japanese Society of Thoracic Radiology

The main activities of the society have been concentrated on an annual meeting held simultaneously with the autumn congress of Japanese Society of Radiology (JRS). Beyond this, JSTR has tried to strengthen relations with other international organizations. We have maintained partnership especially with the KSTR (Korean Society of Thoracic Radiology) by having a joint meeting which is alternately conducted in Japan and Korea. Additionally, JSTR has made contributions to organize ACTR (Asian Congress of Thoracic Radiology) and WCTI (World Congress of Thoracic Imaging) where in many JSTR members have participated and made presentations.

2016 JSTR Board of Directors

President Noriyuki Tomiyama (Diagnostic and Interventional Radiology, Osaka University Graduate School of Medicine)
Vice President Syuji Sakai (Department of Diagnostic imaging & Nuclear Medicine, Tokyo Woman's Medical University)
Kiminori Fujimoto (Department of Radiology, Kurume University School of Medicine)
Board Kazuto Ashizawa (Department of Clinical Oncology,
Nagasaki University Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences)
Yoshiharu Ohno (Department of Radiology, Kobe University)
Masahiko Kusumoto (Diagnostic Radiology, National Cancer Center Hospital East)
Yasuyuki Kurihara (Radiology Department, St.Luke's International Hospital)
Koji Takahashi (Department of Radiology, Asahikawa Medical University)
Masashi Takahashi (Yujin-Yamazaki Hospital)
Nobuyuki Tanaka (Saiseikai Yamaguchi hospital)
Masaki Hara (Nagoya City West Medical Center)
Osamu Honda (Diagnostic and Interventional Radiology, Osaka University Graduate School of Medicine)
Hidetake Yabuuchi (Departmenr of Clinical Radiology, Graduate School of Medical Sciences, Kyushu University)
Syuji Adachi (Hyogo Cancer Center)
Fumikazu Sakai (Radiology Department, Saitama Medical University International Medical Center)
Takeshi Johkoh (Kinki Central Hospital)
Yasuo Nakajima (St.Marianna University School of Medicine)
Hiroto Hatabu (Boston University)
Kiyoshi Murata (Department of Radiology, Shiga University of Medical Science)
Sadayuki Murayama (Department of Radiology, University of the Ryukyus Hospital)
Auditor Tsuneo Matsumoto (National Hospital Organization Yamaguchi-Ube Medical Center)

Page Top